top of page

History


One thing I always love doing when creating a story that is set in Ancient China is spend a day reaching to discover what was happening at a curtain time in history, because there is always something going on. It might take a bit of searching, but in the end it pays off and I am able to learn who was ruling China and what wars were happening and so on. However, when I tried to look up what was going on in Korea in 984 BC there is noting, I can find what happened in 108 BC and before it. The Han Empire has taken control of Northern Korea, which gave rise to the Proto–Three Kingdoms period and it was the Iron Age, There is nothing on what happened through the 900's. Even my Mandarin checker has tried and she got the same results. This made it hard for me to give a reason for Yè yuàn sudden return to his home land.

Thankfully I can take some artistic license, taking into account what has happen in the world of Master Shǒuwèi, to come up with something interesting, The Han invasion would never happen, mainly because of what has dwelled in the mountains and lake that lie between China and Korea since the Dark Chapter, which is said to have originated in Korea, making it a magnet for creatures from the Shadow Realm. However, I like the idea of a bit of conflict between mortals, so North Korea is three kingdoms who are constantly at each others throats, where in the south, even though iron is being produced there, it is peaceful mainly because the Healer Xuě yuèliàng along with his second son are in charge.

My Mandarin checker told me she likes the idea of the Han army marching to invade North Korea, but when they see those monstrous shapes come looming over the mountains, they drop their weapons and run away in fear. I added, yep and the ones accountable for the attack would be punished by the Night Dragons.

Now I have this in place I can complete Hidden Secret and sort A Chance Encounter.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page