top of page

New short story

This week I have began woking on a short story which will be connected to the trilogy, it is set in present day China and features for the first time Gaylin's eldest brother Bīng fēng (Ice Dragon), as he makes an amazing discovery on a ring of mountains that lie between Tibet and China which are known by three names, Shuì lóng, Sleeping Dragon, Xiūxí de lóng, Resting Dragon and Míwù shānmài, Misty Mountains, because they are always covered in clouds, not be confused with the ones in Lord of the Rings as there is no snow with it being a semi dormant volcano, well that is what people think is causing all of the strange white clouds ^_^

The reason the area is called Shuì lóng and Xiūxí de lóng is because of the hot air currents that rise above them, the Dragons use them to warm themselves after they have been to the Land of snow, or some just like the way they carry them high into the air. But every now and then the dragon awakens and sends up a bolt of wind with such force it can daze or even render a Dragon unconscious and they fall to the ground with a bump. These air currents also prevent anyone from landing or taking off from the mountains, they also make it impossible to climb.

I have really been enjoying writing it as Shuì lóng is a place I have been meaning to do for quite some time, as the secrets there go back to the time of Dampa, (Neolithic) and I hope to be able to put across how beautiful the place is with the land being so rich. I am not going to reveal anymore as it will only spoil the story.

I am also not sure when I am going to be realising it, I was thinking along side the first book in the trilogy, as there is just going to bits and peaces mentioned within a scene and this short story is basically the full picture or back story to the scene in the novel. I will be doing this a lot with the trilogy, otherwise it is just going to be too big and having it brake into a short story is only going to confuse the reader. I will make the decision once I have completed it.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page