top of page

Working on a side story

I have been hard at work for nearly a week on a little collection of side stories which involve the beautiful Bǎihé and her encounters with the Monkey Emperor, who comes from a time between the end of the Neolithic to the beginning of the Xia dynasty, time of the five emperors, his name is Liúxīng, I have done some illustrations for each story. The first one is Liúxīng being told off by the Forest Spirit Yīnyǐng guāng for taking his peaches without his permission and the second is of him with Bǎihé. I am going to be adding a mythical dragon's head behind them for in the story they are talking with one ^_^

The idea for these stories came to me after I was planning a scene in second book of the trilogy in which Narsus sees a stunning mythical dragon fly over, because Shinma cannot see it this makes him start to ask about other creatures of myth and legend like the Monkey Emperor, Narsus replies, "Of course he is real, but he is nothing like the one in the stories," then informs him Bǎihé knows him, so they decide to video chat with her and she tells Shinma all bout her adventures with Liúxīng . Because there are only going to bits and peaces, I thought I would bring all the stories to life in one collection.

I am now currently writing the last, well I think the last story. However, I am considering making more as I have really been enjoying writing them as it have given me a nice brake from the main story. My editor has also been enjoying the first two and really likes the drawings for the final story, the God of Storms with one of the five emperors :)

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page