top of page

Ink painting

I have been learning how to paint with acrylic ink, so glad my editor Kiyoshi was on hand to help, as he uses the same inks for his work and they always look amazing, but I was struggling with them. The first thing he asked me was what brushes I was using and when I told him, I think they are synthetic, his face screwed up and he advised me to get some made with fox hair as this was the best for ink painting. That's when I remembered I had found some when I was clearing out a box of paints I was no longer using. The difference it has made to my work is unbelievable, the hair soaks up the ink, where synthetic doesn't. He also kindly instructed me on how to mix the ink to create light colours, white first then two to three drops of colour. I cannot thank him enough for all his help. All I need to do now is come up with an interesting eye colour for Liúxīng's eyes and their robes. ^_^

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page